Chrigl's Weblog

Back to the roots

Posted in Bicycle tour 2008 by chris on September 6, 2008

In August 2008 I traveled from Mayence (Germany) to Florence (Italy) by bike, started on 01.08. and arrived in Florence on 14.08. For back traveling I decided to use the train.

Here you can find a map with all points where I spent the nights.

I just left the “real world” behind me, and only took equipment with me, I really needed. So I also did not carry any electrical stuff with me. Just a mobile for security issues. So, I even had no watch.

The equipment was limited to a solo tent, sleeping bag, small pillow, air matter, equipment to make some food (and also some food), few clothes, wash bag, card material, and most important, tools to fix my bike. I separated the stuff to 4 cycling bags, 2 on the front tire, 2 on the rear one.

Many people ask me why I did this tour. They want to know if I wanted to “find myself”. However, the only reason is: I was able to do this. No other intension, just doing it.

And next year, I will do the North Cape :-)

Leave a Reply

