Chrigl's Weblog

Terratec Aureon 5.1 USB MK II and PulseAudio

Posted in Uncategorized by chris on February 26, 2009

I just bought a Terratec Aureon 5.1 USB MK II to give my notebook surround capabilities. And what should I say. The card works out of the box on my “Intrepid Ibex”. I just had to enable 6 channels for pulseaudio, log in to a new session.

/etc/pulse/daemon.conf:

default-sample-channels = 6

Then PulseAudio automatically detects if the card is plugged on or off. With PulseAudio Device Choser I am now able to change the output device on the fly. It’s quite funny to play anything in rhythmbox, plug on the card, and switch the running stream to the new device, without stopping the playback, or any interferences :-)

If I plug off the card now, the stream moves to the internal card automatically without an interuption. Great.

The only negative point… PulseAudio does not store the mixer setting at the moment. There is a defect discussing the issue, which is closed because it’s not valid. I will read the comments if I am motivated a bit more ;-)

http://pulseaudio.org/ticket/241

Tagged with: , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Peter Dedecker said, on December 28, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Great! I was looking quite long for this kind of solution, thanks! Seems very nice when running Ubuntu, but let’s give it a try at my remote headless embedded board :-)


Leave a Reply

